GASFAA Memorial Scholarship Fund


On May 18, 1999 the Executive Board of the Georgia Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators established the GASFAA Memorial Scholarship Fund to provide a scholarship to a student enrolled in an institution of higher education in Georgia. The scholarship will honor our deceased colleagues whose names and institutions are listed below:

All donations and funds raised are invested 100% into GASFAA Memorial Scholarship Fund. GASFAA is a domestic not for profit corporation (501c3), EIN: 58-1550504

In Memoriam

In honor and memory of the financial aid professionals who have been part of GASFAA and dedicated their careers to assisting students in Georgia to pursue their college goals and dreams. We honor them with the creation of the GASFAA Memorial Scholarship Fund and providing scholarships to our member institutions for their students each year.  

Paul Abbott Georgia Student Finance Commission
Gordon Alston Georgia Southern University
Bill Bolton Georgia Student Finance Commission
Linda Brumfield Spelman College
Melonie Choice Georgia Military College
Dean Dalton Georgia State University
Aurelia Dykes Georgia College
J. Shelton Evans Georgia Southern University
Jean Dobson Farnsworth Emory University
Charlie Edwards Albany Junior College
Eva Floyd Emory University
Betty Fowler Reinhardt College
Kay Freeland Life University
Judy Giles Lanier Technical Institute
Barbara Green East Georgia State College
Patsy Griffin Lanier Technical College
Barney W. Hendricks Jr. Middle Georgia College
Bud Holtzclaw Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
Wayne Hopper Dalton Junior College
Jerrie Huewitt  Georgia Piedmont Technical 
W. Arnold Hulsey North Georgia College
Bonnie Johnson Agnes Scott College
Eddene Johnson Albany State College
Meta Kirsch Atlanta Metropolitan College
William T. Lee Georgia Institute of Technology
Kitty McDonald EdAmerica
Jack McGraw Pickett and Hatcher Education Loan Fund
Rebecca McNeil Georgia Southwestern College
Joann Putnam Young Harris College
Don Payton Georgia Student Finance Commission
Bruce Pound Floyd College
Karey D Raborn, Jr Savannah Technical College
Dale Renfroe Georgia Dept of Technical and Adult Education
Ruth Rich Georgia Student Finance Commission
Lee Ann Seawall University of Georgia
Bill Simmons Georgia Student Finance Commission
Guy Snavely Pickett and Hatcher Education Loan Fund
Vivian Spivey Sandersville Technical College
Don Wilson

East Georgia College


As of the 2000-01 year, the GASFAA Past-Presidents have assumed responsibility for fundraising for the Memorial Scholarship Fund. Fundraising activities will be planned for each meeting and all proceeds from raffles or other activities will be dedicated to this fund. A selection process will be defined and the first scholarship awarded when sufficient funds accumulate to support annual awards.

Beginning with Spring 2003, the GASFAA Memorial Scholarship will be awarded at each Spring conference.

As of Fall 2019, GASFAA has awarded 34 scholarships to Georgia students attending one of our member institutions. Currently, three $1,000 scholarships are awarded. The membership has contributed to the principle of the Scholarship Fund through fundraisers and individual member donations. GASFAA Memorial Scholarships are awarded annually at GASFAA’s Spring Conference. GASFAA maintains a separate investment fund strictly for the GASFAA Memorial Scholarship fund and awards based on donations and interest earned.

GASFAA Memorial Scholarships Member Institution Winners:

Spring 2023

Georgia Southern University
Ogeechee Technical College
North Georgia Technical College

Spring 2022

Emmanuel College
Georgia Highlands College
Kennesaw State University

Spring 2021

Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College                      Brenau University  
Central Georgia Technical College
Georgia Northwestern Technical College
Southeastern Technical College
Reinhardt University                              

Spring 2020

Coastal Pines Technical College
Keune Academy By 124
University of West Georgia

Spring 2019

Albany State University
Berry College
Southern Regional Technical College

Spring 2018

North Georgia Technical College
Oconee Fall Line Technical College
Valdosta State University

Spring 2017

Georgia Northwestern Technical College
Savannah College of Art and Design
Young Harris College
Spring 2016 Atlanta Technical College
Coastal Pines Technical College
Emmanuel College
Spring 2015 East Georgia College
Helms College
Mercer University
Spring 2014 Southern Polytechnic State University
Athens Technical College
Spring 2013 Altamaha Technical College
Lanier Technical College
Spring 2012 Piedmont College
Georgia Health Sciences University
Spring 2011 Georgia Gwinnett College
Albany Technical College
Spring 2010 Brenau University
LaGrange College
Spring 2009 Georgia Gwinnett College
North Georgia Technical College
Spring 2008 Atlanta Metropolitan College
Oglethorpe University
Spring 2007 Albany Technical College
Spring 2006 Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
Spring 2005 Morehouse College
Spring 2004 Coastal Georgia Community College
Spring 2003 Augusta State University


Anyone may make a tax-deductible contribution by sending a check payable to:

Melodie Pirone, GASFAA Treasurer-Elect
P.O. Box 861
Bogart, GA 30622